Portage Boys Varsity Wrestling

  • Overall Record: N/A
  • Conference Record: N/A

rss_feed Latest News

Back to Back Victories for Braves Wrestling team

The Willowcreek Brave wrestling team upped its record to 10-1 with a victory against Merillville Pierce by a score of 98-24.  Winning wrestlers were Josh Ortiz, Dawan “The Danger” Powell, Kiara Kawalczyk, Miles Conrad, Dalton Whitten, Jacob Jones, Anthony Rumbel, Payton Fausto, Ben Bonta, Blake Wolfe, Lucas Underwood, Billy Jones, Devan Howard, Tylee Swopes, Methyus

Portage Wrestling 2017 Wrestle-Off’s

Head Coach Leroy Vega and the Portage Indian Wrestlers would like to invite the public to the 2017 Edition of Wrestle Off’s.  Wrestlers will compete for starting spots on both the Varsity and Junior Varsity line ups at the event. Admission to the event will be “Canned Goods” that will be donated to the Portage

Fegely vs Chesterton-wrestling

Fegely wrestling came out with a decisive victory over Chesterton by a score of 66-45. Winning for the Warriors were: Fred Johnson by forfeit, Mark Calmbacher by forfeit, Cade Mangel by fall, Derric Calmbacher by fall, Ethan Howard by fall, Ray Rojas by fall, Ben Strickler by fall, Zach Kern by fall, D’Juan Washington by

Willowcreek Braves Finish Second at Pierce Invitational

The Willowcreek Brave wrestling team upped its record to 8-1 at the Pierce Invitational.  The only loss of the day was in the championship round to a very tough Hobart team.   Winning wrestlers were Kiara “The Coach” Kowalcyk, Miles “The Meat” Conrad, Owen Bunton, Dalton Whitten, Jacob Jones, Roman “Gladiator” Guerrero, Anthony “Get Ready

Fegely Wrestling vs LaPorte

The Fegely Warriors wrestling team lost a close dual meet to Boston Middle School this week with a score of 51-54, which brings their record to 2-2. Winning for the Warriors were: Fred Johnson by decision, Cade Mangel by forfeit, Tyler Browning by decision, Derric Calmbacher by fall, Isaiah Henderson by decision, James Wozniak by

Wrestlers Compete at Super 32

Five members of the Portage High School wrestling team competed in the Super 32 tournament October 28-29.  Super 32 is known as one of, if not the toughest tournaments in the nation.  Representing the Indians were Jacob Moran, Brock Peele, Colin Poynter, Kris Rumph, and Kasper McIntosh. The Indians were led by Kasper McIntosh placing

Willowcreek Wrestling Begins Season with Dominant Performances

Fresh off a championship performance at the Fegely Invitational, the Willowcreek Braves (4-0) continued its undefeated season with a win over Crown Point Taft by a score of 64-52.  Winning wrestlers were: Jacob Jones, Roman Guerrero, Ben Bonta, Lucas Underwood, Billy “THE KIDD” Jones, Devan Howard, Tylee Swopes, Methyus Coleman, Trevor Albee, Steven Fraker, Corey

Fegely Wrestling Invite 2017

On November 4, Fegely hosted a wrestling invitation. 8 schools participated in this event: Willowcreek, East Chicago, Scott, Kahler, Fegely, Lowell, Clark and Merrillville. The final standings were Willowcreek came in 1st, Lowell was 2nd, Kahler came in 3rd, Merrillville was 4th, Fegely was 5th, Clark was 6th, and then Scott and East Chicago and

Wrestling Practice Starts Today

Wrestling practice begins today Monday, Oct 30th at 3:00.  The wrestling room is located by the main gym and boys locker room.

Wrestlers Compete at National Preseason Tournament

Eight members of the Portage Indian Wrestling Team competed Sunday, September 9th in Fort Wayne, Indiana at the IndianaMat Hoosier Preseason Open (IHPO).  Leading the way for the Indians was Kasper McIntosh winning his 148 lbs bracket with a fall and 5 decisions including a 7-2 decision in the finals.  Colin Poynter placed 3rd and